National Climate Change Law
In 2012, Mexico defined its first targets for reducing GHG emissions and for climate adaptation efforts with the National Climate Change Law (Ley General de Cambio Climático). The law also specifies planning and policy tools, sets out an institutional framework and provides general guidelines for implementing climate policy. Articles 7–9 outline competences for the different levels of government (i.e. central government, states and municipalities). The National System for Climate Change (Sistema Nacional de Cambio Climático; SNCC) seeks to regulate coordination between these levels (Article 38 ff.). In addition to national institutions such as the Interministerial Commission for Climate Change, the Council for Climate Change, and the National Institute for Ecology and Climate Change, the Federal Congress is also part of the system together with Mexico’s 32 states and three national associations of cities and municipalities. In terms of planning, the law requires states to develop their own climate change mitigation programmes. Together with the National Climate Change Strategy and the national Special Programme on Climate Change, these programmes are Mexico’s central planning instruments (see Article 58). The law does not directly require municipalities to take this step. However, it gives federal states this option. For example, this directive has been included in the state of Jalisco’s Law on Climate Change Action.
Outputs: Policy Integration, Standardized Methods and Common Platforms
Outcomes: Raise Ambition, Knowledge Mobilization & Collaboration
Target actors: State/Provincial Goverment, Local Goverment
Complete / Discontinued

Resource Library

Page Navigation